55 Barron Blvd Grayslake, IL 60030 (847) 223-6176

I stopped in at Rudy’s Mexican Grill today (ok, see, Tony is coming home tonight from Toronto and I didn’t feel like cooking…so I had an early dinner out). It’s in a tiny little strip mall (3 shops) right off of 137 / 83.

Friendly guy who owns it (Rudy, natch) with a pretty authentic menu (i.e. real tacos with cilantro). Homemade chips and salsa were really good. I tried a combination platter with two tacos and a tostada (one of the tacos was supposed to be a sope, but he was out, though very apologetic). All good, nice flavor, served hot and fast.

There were also some Spanish speakers in there, which is always a good sign. One diner was even all complimentary to my outfit, telling me it was “my color” which was kind of nice but weird. Especially since the color I was wearing was charcoal gray. But hey. He was being a little flirty, but I’ll take it since I feel like a cow anyhow with my big ‘ol belly. 😉

So, to sum up, as Inigo might say — small place, good vibe, good food, friendly people. Worth a visit, especially if you want something much more authentic than Taco Bell (and just down the street from them). He even had horchata, which I’ll have to get next time.

